Challenging myself for growth

14 06 2012

I never went to art school and I do not regret the fact that I became a biologist, but I always feel that I am lagging so much in art because of a lack of formal education. Yes, you can be self taught but the aid of a knowledgeable professor would be greatly appreciated and now I do not have the time to dedicate 12 hrs+ a day to the study of art. However I do want to keep improving and I will keep studying, so to challenge myself and to avoid falling in the trap of comfort I decided to go through a list of things to do…

Palettes:
Monochrome
Limited (Circe)
Complementary
Primary
Secondary
Tertiary
Split complementary
Analogous
Multicolor
Warm
Cold

Composition:
Pyramidal
Spiral
Big group of people
Architecture
one point perspective
two points perspective

 

Circe

With this in mind I decided to keep my submission for the Enchanted Vissions Project: Circe, very muted and limited. I chose an earthy palette because I wanted to keep an “ancient” look, and I used a roman inspired frame. Also, I wanted to practice fur, which didn’t come out as good as I wanted, but it is a good first attempt.

It was challenging, I hated it for most of the process but towards the end it started to come together. I do like the final look, with the frame in place and the wrinkled texture.

 


Actions

Information

9 responses

14 06 2012
Aleksandra Chabros

Could I also make this challenge? :3

14 06 2012
Constanza

Of course!! And share the results.

14 06 2012
Constanza

we are sharing our results in a new blog: Artist Ambition http://artistambition.blogspot.com/2012/06/my-challenge-list.html
Come visit and join if you’d like! 😀

29 06 2012
Personal Challenge: Secondary Triad « Faerywitch World.

[…] Monochrome Limited (Circe) Complementary Primary Secondary (Enchanted Visions) Tertiary Split complementary Analogous […]

16 10 2012
What is up to in my art life right now. « Faerywitch World.

[…] different now, I work different now, and I am trying to experiment a lot with my work, aiming for specific goals in palette and […]

22 10 2012
Personal Challenge: Complementary palette. « Faerywitch World.

[…] wanted to keep exploring my Personal Challenge list, and having recently seen a post by Dan dos Santos, and having always been very inspired by the […]

16 05 2013
http://my.opera.com

Every weekend i used to pay a visit this site, as i want enjoyment,
for the reason that this this site conations actually good funny stuff too.

17 05 2013
livejournal.com

Appreciation to my father who told me regarding this webpage, this webpage is really amazing.

22 05 2013
Sophie

Good info. Lucky me I discovered your blog by chance (stumbleupon).

I have saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a comment