Valentine card

5 02 2014

It is a common misconception that Christians hate gays. It is also a common misconception that gays hate Christians. I have a revelation for you, many gays are Christians! Shocking! Actually I happen to know a few very good Christian gay guys. Now, keep this concept in mind for a moment… I will come back to it.

Every year I make my Valentine card with my husband in mind, when the card is not too personal I also offer it to the public in Zazzle. One year I used a quote from 1 Corinthians, which is one of the readings I included in my wedding, a beautiful reading about what love is not, and most importantly what it is. Later that year a friend of mine, Alejandro, married his partner, Chris; In Argentina same sex marriage is legal, and I thought I would love to give him a card for his wedding, most of the cards that are geared to gay people are funny or naughty, there are very few that are tasteful and even less that are Christian. It was with Ale and Chris in mind that I redesigned the card I had made for my husband using the silhouette of two males. I kept the quote, though, because regardless of faith, that quote from 1 Corinthians is beautiful and perfect.

gay-couple-card

Every year this card sells for Valentine’s day, and it makes me so happy and proud, that I get giddy each time I receive a notification saying that I sold that design. It makes me very happy to think that somewhere some guy browsing through countless tasteless cards finally smiles warmly thinking that this is the perfect one for his partner. Because in this world of loud words and seemingly “them against us” mentality, me and the people that buy it know that Love is Truth, and Jesus was all about that.


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 02 2014
The Mad Pirate

That’s a really lovely heart warming story ! Thanks for sharing !

5 02 2014
Constanza

You are welcome, thank you for always reading!

Leave a Reply

