Yay, fairy tales!

21 07 2010

I am very happy to tell you that I will be working to illustrate fairy tales for a young children oriented site. This site is aimed to kids 2-8 and its goal is to be educational, nurturing and fun, taking the edge out of the internet so parents can be at ease knowing that their children are not exposed to inappropriate material.

I am really excited about this since I always wanted to do children’s story books (plus tattoos, plus goddess art, plus character design, plus what have you)🙂. I got assigned the Princess and the Pea. I am just getting to work through the sketches for the storyboard so I have not much to show for. But I can show you the sketches I did to show to the client before I got assigned the Princess and the Pea.

One of them was the big bad wolf. The brief was along the lines of “bad, dangerous, but charming and endearing”. I had a blast dressing the Big Bad Wolf as a Chicago gangster… why did I dress him up? well, honestly, to avoid any genitalia conflict🙂 same reason why I am using long jackets in the males of the tale😉

Big Bad Wolf (c) Constanza Ehrenhaus 2010

I also drew a princess to show them. I chose the princess from the Princess and the Pea, just to have something on what to base the design. I used the pea (Pisum sativum) as an anchor for the color selection. This way I would have a palette for the character. Since the tale is most probably original from medieval Switzerland, I went with a modification of the traditional garments of the time and place.

Princess (c) Constanza Ehrenhaus 2010

So, after I was assigned the tale I started designing characters, which I always loved. And as soon as I have green light from the clients I’ll show you some of those concepts🙂

Have a good one!


Actions

Information

4 responses

21 07 2010
Hanna

love the princess in the green dress🙂

22 07 2010
faerywitch

That is her nightgown🙂 By the way, I love your rendition of the Princess and the Pea! She looks so miserable that you want to hug her!

21 07 2010
liliana

me encanta el lobo es un gran seductor

22 07 2010
faerywitch

Gracias ma🙂

Leave a Reply

