Book Review: Tattoo, from idea to ink. By Joy Surles.

8 07 2010

From time to time I design tattoos, an activity that  I enjoy greatly, but I have never done any study on that topic, so I decided to buy some books on it.  I found Tattoo, from Idea to Ink, “Tattoo, from Idea to Ink, is an indispensable resource for tattoo artists and enthusiasts alike.” Or so the review reads. Truth is that it is not a resource for artists. It is a lovely book with beautiful images from different master tattooists from around the US mainly, but there is little about the designing.

Even when the book claims constantly that they focus on the process of the tattoo from its conception, they basically just ask the artists how they approach the design getting a generic “I use a lot of reference” as an answer each time. It is a good reference if you are planning to get tattoos, since the book covers hygiene, safety, and what you should look for in a tattoo artist.

I did like a lot the interviews the author includes in each chapter, and the extensive collection of images she shows. But unfortunately the book is not what it claims to be and it is mostly aimed to tattoo collectors.

Is there any tattoo book you could recommend me? I am in the search right now.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

