2009-2010: the year in review

5 05 2010

Hi! I know it is rather late to make a ‘year in review’ post. But this last year and a half has been really intense, with a wedding and two part time jobs (plus art) so there has not been a lot of art done in the second part of 2009 and also not much time to analyze things. Besides, I live in the academia calendar, so my year finishes in May😉

Longing for Spring (c) Constanza Ehrenhaus.

So, how has this year treated me? Rather well, I must say. My blog visits grew consistently and I am hitting 1500+ views per month, which is not bat at all! Last year in April I had 334 views and I was happy🙂 Given that I do not write about politics or sex I would say that it is a very healthy increment, and I am hoping to keep publishing at least one post per week to keep the viewers happy.

I also started writing interviews for the Artist Spotlight column in EMG-zine, which I consider awesome! You guys have no idea how nice it feels to be able to interview great artists! So far it has been great, everybody has been super nice and accepted to answer my questions. This also gives me a very good opportunity for networking, since a have a good excuse to approach artists worldwide😉

Also, with Ellen Million, I became an editor for Fantastic Portfolios (FP), a great place not only to showcase your awesome fantasy art, but also to get great critiques and push yourself to improve your artwork. The premise of FP is that there is always room for improvement. So come over and join us!

Earlier this year I took for the second time the Creative Direction Workshop. The workshop is mainly aimed to cover artists, but the incredible people teaching it know so much that they are a source of  knowledge and inspiration regardless of what your artistic area is. I did learn much, and have been implementing techniques learned there not only to improve my art but also to make my work faster.

I feel that my art has been improving slowly but surely through 2009-2010, I am very pleased with some of my images and I have not started to hate them the next day after publishing them. Commissions have been slowly building up, which is nice, and this year I got the first commissions coming my way on their own. I usually put a lot of time into finding people who want art to be done for them, it’s the way this works. But it feels really good when someone knocks at *your* door instead!😀 Those two commissions came to me because of this blog. So people, if you have a blog, keep it updated!

And, oh, yes! I sold my first print through DA this week! Ain’t it awesome? I am so giddy about that! Whoever did it has made me so happy! I send my buyer a big hug!!

That is all for right now, I hope next year I can also give you a load of positive improvements. Thank you very much for accompanying me in this journey, people, there is no way I could do this without you and your wonderful support!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

