Meeting with artists in Real Life: Chris Griffin

14 05 2009

My husband and I drove down to Louisiana to visit family, and I saw that his itinerary passed by Columbus, Ohio. “Hey! That is where Chris lives”, I told him, “let me email her and try to meet!” So we did🙂

Image copyrighted to Melissa Findley http://mercuralis.deviantart.com

Image copyrighted to Melissa Findley http://mercuralis.deviantart.com

I have been knowing Cris (aka Quickreaver) from when I first started my online activity, about little more than 3 years ago, and I was immediately impressed by her incredible skills, how beautifully she paints skin, her humility and will to help others. Through the years I’ve grown to respect and admire Chris even more than that first impression, mainly because of her unique character. She is very down to earth and always has the right words to calm the tempest even in the most heated internet dramas, keeping her comments objective and open minded.

I was so happy to finally meet her. In the eyes of my mind she is this beautiful and tall red-headed woman (Avatars imprinting, see?), and after meeting this beautiful, small and amiable woman, she still is a vampire queen in my mind, tall and red-headed. We had a short and fun time together, we talked about all the big American issues, as gay marriage, politics, religion, abortion and whatnots… I think the only topic we did not talk about was vaccination and autism… I guess it was not such a big issue then ;)  Of course we also talk about art too, digital, traditional and the wonderful environment of traditional galleries.

It was great to meet Cris, it was great to put a voice and some more reality in the little slot of my brain that stored Cris’ information. I enjoyed our meeting very much and I really am hoping that we can go to Illuxcon together next year.


Actions

Information

4 responses

14 05 2009
Rita Ria

Lucky girl!
I can imagine how much fun you two had together! Sometimes I think, we should have our own convention, all the artists friends we know and love😀

Some photos?????

Rita

14 05 2009
faerywitch

I think we had a lot of fun. A meeting with artists that we know should be wonderful! I would love to do something like that.
If I ever go to Europe I would love to spend some time with you, maybe have tea and pastries?

15 05 2009
Rita Ria

Whatever you want!
I bake the best cake in town! (as far as I know)🙂
Feel invited!

17 05 2009
faerywitch

Sounds great! I would love some good European style cakes! I miss that here, in USA.

Leave a Reply

