Just do what you love to do

1 05 2009

From this month on I will be working as a columnist for Ellen Million Graphics e-Zine. I will be doing interviews to artists.

I started doing interviews last year, I was already familiar with a some artists that I respect a lot and Mel had given me a subscription to DA (just because she is so awesome that she gives gifts) and I thought to myself that there was so much that I didn’t know about her. I knew that she was a great person but I wanted to know more about her. I am usually not a person that asks, I am very much of the style “If you want to tell me you can tell me anything you want and I will listen, but I will not ask”, I guess because I am afraid of asking too much or offending people. I was thinking about all this and then it hit me that I also wanted more people to know about her and the way to promote her could be with an interview. And so she was my first interview.

I loved it so much that then I interviewed Jenny Dolfen, and how delighted I was when Henning Ludvigsen said yes! Henning allowing me to be nosy about him, his life, his art!  I then interviewed the wonderful Chris Griffin, and then I stopped for some time because I was overwhelmed with work. By then I already was getting a lot of good feedback, especially for the little excerpts that other artists were giving me about the people I was interviewing. I thought that it could be fun to actually have an outside view (being a scientist and all that), a different perspective, not from me, nor from the artist. And that was a hit.

I finally got myself motivated again and interviewed Inge Vandormael, and when I asked a question about prints to Ellen she asked me if I wanted to work for her zine. Imagine my joy! I was so glad to be considered to work for someone I respect so much! And this is fun people! Interviewing these people is fun!

So since they needed an interview for April they will publish the one I did to Chris, and after that I will be introducing a new artist each month. I am wrapping up my next interview and planning the one after that. So stay tuned, subscribe to EMG zine, or wait a month to read the interviews in my blog 😉

This goes to show, people, that if you do what you love, you put love and effort into it, and you have fun, you are in the right track to advance in that path. Keep working on your loved hobbies, you might be surprised about what life brings to you because of that.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

