So you know when you are “there”?

5 02 2009

It is hard to know, it is really hard to notice when you are getting “there”, because it is a continuous process. It is not like you woke up one day and you say “Hey! I’ve succeeded!” It is more like “Hu? when did this happen?” because you were so busy working trying to evolve as an artist that you had no idea that you were getting there. As for me, I am not nearly “there” where some fantastic artists that I admire are. I am many many miles away from their awesomeness, professionalism and skills. But I am slowly working toward it. And work is yielding fruit.

This month (yes, February has just started) I got to be front page in EMG zine!Ā šŸ˜€ Yay the Holy Cow!! (I love that piece). And I got a tutorial on how to draw stained glass published in Amazing Events by Fantasyana. Yay!!! Holy Cow again!! :XD: The tut has been released first exclusively for the magazine. It will be published on line later *just an incentive to get the magazine*šŸ˜‰ And as lagniappe, my art has been stolen for the first time today. Now… under other circumstances I’d be outraged, but this are special circumstances and I can’t help but feel the irony. Let me explain.

Melissa, Meredith, Louisa and I (and my contribution was certainly the most humble one since I had to work on my day job all day today, you should have seen how those other girls worked their butts off) have been working hard on get loads and loads of stolen art identified and notify the artists affected. The art was taken by Hammerfall, an RPG in Facebook. You can read the whole story here So we spent hours and hours going through the super tedious process of opening hundreds of folders, looking at the art, tineye it, try to find the original author, record all the data, notify the artists (yes, I’d rather be drawing, but it had to be done, eh?). And if you want to read a terrific analysis of the importance of the community, go to Louisa’s journal. So the news were made public, the guy was warned about putting down the stolen art… and guess what? He replaced one of the stolen pieces with my Rill!Ā  Now when Mel told me I just started laughing (more like a mad’s scientist laughter… hey! I am a mad scientist! :XD:) because it just seems so ironic. I mean, after all the hours put into that, we are closely watching this guy… and he goes and takes one of MY pieces… I mean… is this the divine revenge of some kind of dark lord?


Actions

Information

One response

9 02 2009
New Wips « Faerywitch World.

[…] Faerywitch World. Fantasy Art by Constanza Ehrenhaus. « So you know when you are “there”? […]

Leave a Reply

